Category Archives: Uncategorized

Greater Cleveland’s Best Public Relations Leader, Practitioner and Mentor Announced, Awards Scheduled for March 11, 2015

The Greater Cleveland Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) announced the winners of its annual Hill, Lighthouse and Young Awards (HLY), for the best leader, practitioner and mentor for their commitment to and support of the public relations profession.

This year’s honorees include:

Tom Nobbe, Cleveland Special Events Corporation: John W. Hill Memorial Award
The John W. Hill Memorial Award honors Cleveland-area chief executives who demonstrate a keen appreciation of the importance of public relations over the course of their careers. As executive of the 2014 Gay Games, Nobbe and his team had their work cut out for them. Changing hearts and minds requires building understanding in the community. While the Gay Games had begun as a rallying cry for diversity and inclusiveness, the time and place of the 2014 Gay Games called for a specific kind of communications strategy, one based on creating and communicating a sense that something amazing was happening and letting the community discover it was something they wanted to support and even experience.

Don McGrath, APR, Eaton: Lighthouse Award
The Lighthouse Award honors senior public relations professionals for their career accomplishments. Don McGrath has contributed significantly to the growth of the global communications function of Eaton, a power management company. An unabashed advocate of the APR (Accredited in Public Relations) designation, McGrath’s career accomplishments included being press secretary and spokesman for the two Army Chiefs of Staff at the Pentagon as well as holding senior executive positions at Textron, Rockwell Automation and BASF. He is a tireless promoter of Cleveland and is committed passionately to organizations such as such as MetroHealth Medical Center, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, College Now and the Greater Cleveland Fisher House.

Edward M. Stevens, APR + M, Stevens Strategic Communications: Davis Young Award for Exceptional Mentor
The Davis Young Award for Exceptional Mentors is given to a professional who excels in mentoring students and young professionals through hands-on instruction and support. Stevens has mentored a score of interns and entry-level professionals. Some of his accomplishments include establishment of scholarship programs, implementation of PR courses, creation of internships for both local and international students and involvement with students at Cleveland State, John Carroll, Edinboro and Gannon Universities.

The PRSA Greater Cleveland HLY Awards luncheon is scheduled for Wednesday, March 11, 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m. at the Union Club Wedgewood Room in Cleveland. Tickets are $42 for PRSA members; $50 for non-PRSA members; $350.00 for a table of eight; $460 for a table of 10. Click here to purchase tickets.

Deadline for reservations is Friday, March 6 at 12 p.m. Cancellations must be received in writing by Monday, March 9, at 5 p.m. to be eligible for refund. 

Checks with name & company affiliation of  attendee(s) can me made payable to: PRSA Greater Cleveland, and mailed to: 28022 Osborn Road, Bay Village OH 44140.

For more information, contact: Lisa Smith at 440-339-6572 or

Northeast Ohio in-house, nonprofit and agency MarComm professionals honored at the PRSA Greater Cleveland Chapter’s 12th Annual Cleveland Rocks Awards

2014 Awards Highlight Region’s Diverse Marketing, Public Relations Success

The Greater Cleveland Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) honored the area’s best in marketing and public relations at its 12th Annual PRSA Cleveland Rocks Awards on Friday, Dec. 5. This year, there were more than 125 entries across 31 categories, represented by agencies, corporations and nonprofit organizations. Fifty-five of the entries were recognized with an award.

“From hosting international events to advancing the mission of local nonprofits, Northeast Ohio’s marketing, communications and PR professionals have done it all this year,” said Christian Hunter, APR, president-elect of the PRSA Greater Cleveland Chapter. “We have some of the most talented individuals in our field right here in our own backyard – talent that sets our members and region apart as some of the best in the industry.”

At this year’s event, Falls Communications accepted the coveted “Best of Show” award for “Automotive Finishes E-Finish Newsletter” on behalf of Sherwin-Williams in the newsletters category. The “Judges’ Choice” award went to Hattie Larlham and Scott Juba for the special event, “Over the Edge.”

Annually, the Cleveland Rocks Awards acknowledge Northeast Ohio’s outstanding public relations and marketing programs, incorporating the qualities of research, planning, execution and evaluation. Award winners demonstrate leadership in the public relations field and contribute to advancing the profession in the region. Award entries were judged and winners selected by the PRSA Richmond Chapter.

PRSA Greater Cleveland 2014 Rocks Awards Winners

Nominations for 2015 Hill, Lighthouse, Young Awards Now Open

The Hill, Lighthouse, Young Awards Committee is currently seeking nominations for the 2015 Awards. The nomination process has been updated in an effort to make it easier for those wishing to nominate a deserving practitioner.

Nominators will be asked to first complete and submit a short nomination form. The committee will then review the submitted nominations and determine who should proceed to the next step of the nomination process, which is the completion of a longer nomination form. This form will address specific questions and will help the committee in making its selection of that year’s winners.

Our hope is that this improved process will make nominating an individual easier and more accessible.
Nominations for the 2015 Awards are now open. Short nomination forms are due to the committee, via Committee Chair Lisa Smith, APR, no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 19, 2014. Instructions are included on each short nomination form.

Click here to access the nomination forms.

2015 Hill Short-Form Nomination Form

2015 Lighthouse Short-FormNomination

2015 Young Short-Form Nomination Form

Questions? Reach out to Committee Chair via e-mail: