Tag Archives: The 2018 Lighthouse Award

My Salute to Hill Lighthouse Young Award Winners


By Ed Stevens, APR

L-R: David Gilbert, Barbara Paynter, Julie Miller

The John W. Hill Award is presented each year to the chief executive of a Greater Cleveland area organization who provides outstanding leadership and support for internal and external communications.

The Lighthouse Award is presented each year to recognize the career accomplishments and community service of a senior public relations professional who is a member of Greater Cleveland PRSA.

The Davis Young Award for Exceptional Mentors is presented each year to recognize a professional who excels in mentoring students and young professionals through hands-on instruction and support.

If you have ever served on the Hill Lighthouse Young Awards committee, you quickly became aware of the great amount of scrutiny that accompanies the selection process.

After all, we are looking for an executive who exemplifies leadership where public relations plays a key role. It would seem there are many nominee possibilities, but that is seldom the case. There are many reasons, but building a list of prospective Hill Award winners is often a daunting task.

It is easier to identify candidates for the Lighthouse Award. If you have been an active member of PRSA, you probably have done many of the right things in terms of service, professional development, leadership and more.

Being a PR mentor seems to be a slam dunk. But in today’s world, professionals don’t take the time to train, encourage and position younger professionals to succeed as in the past.

This year’s HLY Award winners are perfect choices. Each has achieved a special place among Cleveland’s PR deity. Each has left an indelible mark on our public relations profession as corporate executive, public relations professional or mentor.

The 2018 John W. Hill Award was presented to David Gilbert, president and CEO of Destination Cleveland as well as president and CEO of the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. David has made Cleveland shine as the venue of choice for sports, music and conferences.

The 2018 Lighthouse Award was presented to Barbara Paynter, APR, Fellow PRSA, president of Paynter Communications. Barbara is a good friend and one of our region’s best communicators and PR professionals.

The 2018 Davis Young Award was presented to Julie Miller, APR, associate professor and director of public relations programs at Baldwin Wallace University. Julie has touched so many students to help them excel as new professionals. We want more of Julie’s students.

I am thrilled to blog about the Hill Lighthouse Young Awards. They are the Greater Cleveland PRSA Chapter’s way of saying “thank you.” As a recipient of both the Lighthouse and Young Award, I know how humble and touched I was to be recognized. I am certain this year’s winners had a similar experience.

Why not take the time now to start thinking about the professionals you would like to see on stage next year to receive one of these prestigious awards. Could you be a candidate one day?